The Marine Division is responsible for ensuring the safety of the recreating public whether on waterways. The Division is often called upon to support the State Police Scuba Team and the Search and Rescue Team.
In addition to enforcing marine laws, the Division also offers many education programs designed to make the waterways safer for everyone. This Division works closely with agencies such as the United States Coast Guard.
For information about boating in Vermont, check out the online Vermont Boating Book.
If you lost your boating certificate, request a new copy.
Boating Safety Courses
The following entities sponsor BOAT VERMONT, an 8 hour classroom course on responsible boating required for motor boat operators (12 years of age or older) born after January 1, 1974. The internet boating safety course is also available for those unable to attend a classroom course.