Frequently Asked Questions
You should focus on these areas:
Conduct - Avoid criminal or unethical behavior, drive responsibly, avoid illegal drugs, do not consume alcohol unlawfully or irresponsibly. Remember that using someone else’s prescription drug, even one pill for pain from a sprained ankle, is illegal. Participation in illegal and immoral acts and excessive motor vehicle collisions and/or violations can disqualify a candidate from the application process. Associating with people who participate in illegal acts can also disqualify a candidate.
Education – Pursue higher education; attain certifications in specialty areas such as CPR, first aid, second language, or other relevant skills.
Experience – Be a reliable and responsible employee, engage in volunteer service, and show your commitment by being involved in the community. Consider gaining military and/or law enforcement experience.
Finances - Demonstrate financial independence, responsibility and security. Avoid late payments, overdrafts and excessive debt compared to earnings, and maintain a good credit rating.
Physical Fitness – Stay fit; join a gym or athletic team. Keeping physically active will assist you in the recruitment testing process and also ensure you successfully earn certification. You should plan on being able to run 5 miles by the time you report to the academy.
The minimum physical fitness standards recruits are based on the 50th percentile based on age and gender as developed by the Cooper Institute for Aerobic Research.
Our assessment measures the following areas – body fat, sit and reach, bench press, sit ups, push ups, and a 1.5 mile run. Please see our Fitness Standards.
Our tattoo policy states:
- Any body piercing, tattoos, branding or other body art visible while on duty in uniform shall comply with this policy.
- Any body piercing, tattoos, branding or other body art that is prejudicial to good order, discipline, or morale, or bring discredit upon the Vermont State Police, or are sexist, racist, eccentric, offensive, or have illegal drug use or paraphernalia, or are anti-American, or associated with any extremist group, are prohibited.
- Members may not cover tattoos or brands as a means to comply with this policy.
- Tattoos and brands that are visible above the collar of the class C (short-sleeve) uniform are prohibited.
- Tattoos and brands that are visible below the wrist are prohibited except a tattoo or brand symbolic of a civil union or marriage on the ring finger.
- Sleeve tattoos are prohibited. Sleeve tattoos are defined as a single large or collection of smaller tattoos that cover or almost cover the visible portion of the arm while wearing the class C uniform.
You do not have to be a resident to apply. However, you must establish residency in Vermont by the time you graduate the basic Academy.
Approximately six months from your separation date.
No. Contact your high school to request a copy of your transcripts showing completion.
No. Once you apply, and if you are successful in the hiring process, we will offer you a position and put you through the Academy. Pre-Basic classes begin in January and July, and the Academy is immediately after. The entire training process at the Academy is approximately 26 weeks.
Yes. Your first day of Pre-Basic (usually January or July) will be your first day of paid employment.
Yes. The academy is a paramilitary environment. We require Recruits to reside at the academy typically from Sunday evening through Friday afternoon. If your home is a great distance away, we’ve found local motels that offer discounts, as well as the camaraderie that you will experience may lend itself to being able to stay with a fellow recruit on weekends!
A few weeks into the start of the Basic Academy class, you will be given a list of barracks with vacancies. You will select your top three choices, however, the needs of the Department come first and it is possible that you may not get your desired barracks. You will learn your assignment approximately half-way through the Academy.
The training period of a Vermont State Trooper lasts for 27 weeks. The first 3 weeks are similar to a military style boot camp and involves only State Police recruits. The next 17 weeks involve attendance and graduation from the basic police academy. The remaining 7 weeks of "post basic" training is for certifications such as DWI, radar, first aid/CPR, shotgun, emergency vehicle operation, and several other specialty courses. Instruction in the State Police computer system and remaining equipment issues will also be included.
Graduates of this training then participate in a thirty-six day minimum and fifty-four day maximum Field Training Officer Program under the supervision of another Trooper.
Vermont State Police does not currently have 24 hour coverage. Shifts can vary from barracks to barracks: some barracks rotate from day shift to night shift every few months. Troopers work days, nights, weekends, and holidays.
A typical shift may be:
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. If on day shift you may be on call from 4:30 a.m. - 8:00 a.m.
5:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m. If on night shift you may be on call from 2:00 a.m. - 4:30 a.m.
A Vermont State Trooper routinely works on his/her own without any readily available assistance from other officers. A Trooper is often many miles away from any city or town. Troopers must be mentally and physically prepared to deal with any situation until additional manpower arrives.
As with every other aspect of law enforcement, we train every Trooper we hire to handle these kinds of situations. However, it also requires self-confidence which can only come from within.
All equipment and uniforms are provided by the State. Troopers are generally issued a take-home patrol vehicle which is not to be used for personal transportation when off duty.
The Vermont State Police believe that diversity within its workforce provides a department best suited to serve the needs of Vermont citizens. In keeping with that philosophy, minority groups and women are strongly encouraged to apply.
The State of Vermont is an Equal Opportunity Employer. Discrimination because of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, place of birth, age, or against a qualified person with disabilities, or any other non-merit factor is prohibited. Any applicant for employment who feels discriminated against in his or her opportunity for employment shall have the right to appeal. Such appeals shall be submitted in writing to the Commissioner, Department of Public Safety, 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2101, no later than 30 calendar days from the effective date of the action being appealed.