Record Requests

Record requests to the Vermont State Police must be submitted in writing or online. The instructions to the right explain the process to request a police report, public record, or other document. The Vermont State Police will evaluate each request on an individual basis and in accordance with the Vermont Access to Public Records Act; Title 1, Chapter 5, Subchapter 3 of the Vermont Statues Annotated. The statute also includes specific exemptions for records from public inspection; set forth in 1 V.S.A. § 317.

Case Number

To request a Vermont State Police Record, be sure that you have the corresponding case number about which you inquire. If you do not have the case number, contact the local Vermont State barracks that handled the case.

Fees

The fee for the police records are as follows, as set forth by 20 V.S.A. § 1815. If there are additional costs associated with your request for extracting and compiling records, as set forth by the Vermont Secretary of State, we will contact you to discuss. Payment will be returned for reports which are not released.

  • Police Report: $20.00
  • Photo CD: $20.00
  • Video: $45.00
  • Audio Recording: $45.00
  • Other Fees: Secretary of State

Online Record Request

To request a police report or other public record online, you will need:

  • VSP case number
  • Date of the Incident
  • Name of all parties involved
  • Type of incident
  • Valid Email Address
  • Credit Card for Payment 

Record Request by Mail

To request a police report or other public record by mail, you will need:

  • Record Request Form
  • VSP case number
  • Date of the incident
  • Name of all parties involved
  • Type of incident
  • Check payable to the VT Dept. of Public Safety

Mail your request to:

Vermont State Police
Attn: Record Request
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-1300

Crash Reports

Crash reports are supplied by Vermont DMV. Please complete a Vermont DMV Record Request and mail your request to:

Dept. of Motor Vehicles
Accident Division
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603

A crash report includes the police report of the motor vehicle crash; which are available 30 days from the date of the collision. For questions, contact the DMV directly at 802-828-2050.

Record Custodian

If you have an exisiting record request or your questions has not been answered above, please contact the Record Custodian at 802-241-5351.

Appeals

If your record request was denied, you may appeal the decision, in writing, to:

Department of Public Safety Commissioner
Attn: Record Request Appeal
45 State Drive
Waterbury, Vermont 05671-1300