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***UPDATE*** 

 DMV OFFICE CLOSURES AND ADDITIONAL REGULATORY WAIVERS 
 

March 19, 2020                                                Bulletin 20-03 

 

 

On March 13, 2019 Governor Scott issued an emergency declaration due to the Covid-19 outbreak. On 

March 16, 2020 Governor Scott announced DMV will be extending license and registration renewals for 

90 days beyond their effective expiration date beginning March 13, 2020.  If an individual’s permit, 

temporary license or permanent license and/or registration has expired since March 13, 2020 law 

enforcement officers should honor a 90 day waiver of those credential expiration dates.  

 

In continuing to assess the impact to state operations DMV is committed to providing the healthiest 

environment possible for both our customers and employees. In an attempt to limit everyone’s potential 

exposure to the coronavirus (COVID-19), effective March 19, 2020 all DMV in-person transactions 

have been suspended until further notice.  As a result transactions during this time must be completed 

through the mail, electronic methods or phone, whichever is available. 

 

Vermont has issued a temporary waiver of IRP/IFTA/72 hour trip permit requirements effective with the 

Emergency Declaration that was issued on March 13th. DMV asks that no enforcement action be taken 

against vehicles with no or expired IRP or IFTA credentials for 90 days from the date of the Emergency 

Declaration. 

 

Additionally, in order to stay consistent with expiration dates and processing times, any oversize or 

overweight permit expiring the same time as the vehicle registration, or expiring during the month of 

March, will also have an extension of 90 days.  All permits can still be processed by mail or electronic 

means. 

 

All requests for Single Trip Permits will still be processed and issued by the Permit Unit.  Any permit 

request which requires an engineer review will still follow the normal process. 

 

All fuel distributor reports required to be filed with DMV are still required to be filed on time.  There are 

no deadline extensions for reporting. 
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Permit Type and Expiration 

 

• Special Excess Weight Permits (Vermont registered vehicles) - expiration date of March 31, 2020 

will be extended 90 days. 

• Blanket Permits- expiration dates of March 31, 2020 will be extended for 90 days. 

• Farm Equipment Dealer Permits- expiration dates of March 31, 2020 will be extended for 90 days. 

• Reasonable Access Permits- reasonable access permits expirations will be extended for 90 days. 

• Single Trip Permits- will be issued through normal process. 

• Special Purpose Blanket Permit- expiration dates of March 31, 2020 will be extended 90 days. 

• Self-Issue Crane Permits- will be issued through normal process. 

• Over Length Permit for Operation on Route 4- all expiration date starting March 13, 2020 will be 

extended for 90 days. 

 

Lastly, DMV is aware of transportation providers being asked by school districts to assist in delivering 

meals to school age children during the day.  This request is to help ensure children who would normally 

have their breakfast and lunch at school still have access during the mandated school closing.   

 

Title 23 V.S.A. § 1283(a)(4) requires the Eight Way Light System only be used when school age 

children are being loaded or unloaded during a school related function.  The sole purpose for the use of 

the system is to provide a safe passage for children by signaling other motorists to stop.   

 

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles understands the need to provide our most vulnerable citizens 

(children) with nutritious meals, especially in times like this.  The department also recognizes the 

inherent danger posed when a child crosses the street.  Keeping in mind the safety and wellbeing of our 

children the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles authorizes the usage of the Eight Way Light System when 

making deliveries to school age children.  This authorization will remain in effect until the service is no 

longer needed. 
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Colonel William (Jake) Elovirta                               

Director - Enforcement & Safety Division 

 


