

State of Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles 120 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 *dmv.vermont.gov*

[phone] 802-828-2067 [fax] 802-828-2092 [ttd] 800-253-0191 Agency of Transportation

Gov. Scott announces a Driver License and Registration Renewal Extension

March 16, 2020

Bulletin 20-02

On March 13, 2019 Governor Scott issued an emergency declaration due to the Covid-19 outbreak. On March 16, 2020 Governor Scott announced DMV will be extending license and registration renewals for 90 days beyond their effective expiration date beginning March 13, 2020. If an individual's permit, temporary license or permanent license and/or registration has expired since March 13, 2020 law enforcement officers should honor a 90 day waiver of those credential expiration dates. Once the state of emergency is resolved a follow up bulletin will be sent out.

It is important to note and to relay to the public that they can still mail in their license renewals or go online and process registration renewals. DMV is looking to decrease the need for our customers to have to appear in person at DMV branch offices and follow recommended social distancing protocols during this time.

Colonel William (Jake) Elovirta Director Enforcement & Safety Division